Street photography 3

I have previously published two posts with “street photography” in the title so I am going to start numbering the street photography posts since I am apparently too lazy to think up catchy titles for each post.

My mobility is somewhat limited so I started taking this type of picture using longer focal length lenses than are traditionally used by “street” photographers. Now days I use a large DSLR and 70-200 mm lens almost exclusively for this type of photography. I like that I am able to isolate subjects with it and can get many candid pictures because I am not right in the subjects face where they become very aware of the camera. The down side to this lens is its physical size which of course calls attention to the photographer. People are more curious and guarded if they think that you might be a professional photographer than if you appear to be just another tourist with a point and shoot. Sometime in the future I believe that I will make the move to a smaller non SLR camera for this type of photography.

DSC_8949 copyblogWoman in the window. ISO-800, f/11, 1/250 sec.

DSC_6178black white copy blogWhite wig. ISO-640, f/8, 1/200 sec.

