Kershaw Leek updated

On August 8, 2013 I posted about a Kershaw Leek that I had just received. Link to the original post: https://thenorthedge.wordpress.com/2013/08/08/kershaw-leek/ Since that time I have carried it almost daily and have formed some opinions as to its usefulness and overall desirability to me.

At the time that I first posted about the knife I noted that it was possible for a coin to get wedged between the blade and the handle making the knife difficult to open. Now I have revised that opinion. If I carry the knife in the same pocket as my change, it is not only possible that a coin will work its way between the blade and the handle, it is likely. Dimes are the worst offenders because of their thinness and relatively small diameter. It seems to happen frequently enough that it discourages me from carrying the knife.

DSC_8497 copy

One other thing that I don’t like is the very slick or slippery feel the knife has. I would prefer the handle scales to have some texture.

Other than the fore mentioned issues I like the knife; its keen point is great for digging out splinters and it is of a useful size for opening envelopes or packages, cutting twine or tape, and the other daily tasks that my small folders get used for. Its small size makes it a pleasant knife to carry.

Despite its good points I stopped carrying the Kershaw Leek after less than 5 months because of the coin jamming the blade issue. The annoyance factor is just too much for me to put up with since I own plenty of knives that don’t have this problem.

